posted in: Home Page News | 0

Immunizations required for school attendance. As of July 1 2014 the Immunization of School Pupils Act has added vaccination against three additional diseases that students require for entry to school; they are meningococcal disease, Pertussis (whooping cough) and varicella (chickenpox). These three vaccines are in addition to existing requirements for proof of immunization against tetanus, diphtheria, polio, measles, mumps and rubella.

Your local health unit is required under the Immunization of School Pupil’s Act (ISPA) to collect and maintain up-to-date records of all the above immunizations for every child registered in school. Now is a good time to contact your health care provider to discuss your child’s immunization needs in light of the new legislation. Parents are required to contact the health unit to update immunization records for their children or provide a valid affidavit. Visit your local health unit website for more information:

• City of Kawartha Lakes and Haliburton County-please visit the Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit website at [ ]

· District of Muskoka-please visit the Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit website at<>